(old) Arctic Council

Mandate and composition of the Arctic Council

The Arctic Council, is an intergovernmental forum established in 1996 by the Ottawa founding Declaration, with the aim of promoting cooperation, coordination and interaction between the Arctic States, Arctic Indigenous peoples and other Arctic inhabitants on issues focused on sustainable development and environmental protection

The Arctic Council is made up of eight Arctic States – Canada, Kingdom of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, the Russian Federation, Norway and the United States – and six Permanent Participants representing the Indigenous communities of the Arctic. The six groups with full consultation rites are Aleut International Association, Arctic Athabaskan Council, Gwich’in Council International, Inuit Circumpolar Council, Russian Association of Indigenous People of the North and the Saami Council.

There are over 35 observer groups made up of non-Arctic states, intergovernmental and interparliamentary organizations and non-governmental organisations, including ACOPS, who also participate in the work and the meetings of the Arctic Council.

The Arctic Council works to a ten-year Strategy (2021 – 2030) which guides the work towards the Arctic as a “region of peace, stability and constructive cooperation, that is a vibrant, prosperous, sustainable and secure home for all its inhabitants, including Indigenous Peoples, and where their rights and well-being are respected.” It makes decisions by consensus of the Members. 

Institutional structure

The Arctic Council Secretariat was established in 2013 and is based in Tromso, Norway. The Council is chaired on a two year rolling basis, and at the end of each chairmanship, a Ministerial meeting hosted by the current Chairmanship is organised. Generally, but not always, a Declaration is adopted by the members.

2023 – 2025 Norway 

2021 – 2023 Russian Federation

2019 – 2021 Iceland

2017 – 2019 Finland

2015 – 2017 United States

2013 – 2015 Canada

2011 – 2013 Sweden

2009 – 2011 Kingdom of Denmark